UI Hospitals and Clinics

News Article

Physicians Honored

The second annual University of Iowa Physicians (UIP) Clinical Awards were presented October 15 at the group's annual meeting. UIP is composed of the 700-plus staff physicians who provide care at UI Hospitals and Clinics.

The group established the awards in 2011 to honor clinical excellence among its members. Nominations are accepted annually from any UIP member or participant and evaluated by the UIP Clinical Awards Committee.

Innovations in Clinical Care Award

This award is given to an individual or team for implementation of an innovative new program or process that improves service to patients.

Scott Wilson

This year's recipient:
Scott Wilson, DO, Internal Medicine

As director of the Hospitalist Program at UI Hospitals and Clinics, Dr. Scott Wilson has been at the forefront of efforts to better manage and coordinate the care for hospitalized patients, particularly the acutely ill. Since his arrival in 2000, Dr. Wilson’s leadership in developing the program—which today is comprised of more than 30 hospitalists—has impacted how we improve quality, reduce costs, teach medical students and residents, and measure our institutional effectiveness in delivering hospital-based care.

View video

Excellence in Quality Award

This award is given to an individual or team in recognition of outstanding quality of care provided to patients. Recipients will have demonstrated excellence in reportable measures of quality, benchmarked patient outcomes, or improvements in internally measured outcomes.

Bradley VanVoorhis

This year's team recipient: In Vitro Fertilization Team; Award accepted by Brad Van Voorhis, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Based on in vitro fertilization (IVF) outcomes reported to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and compared with those of other centers in the United States, the IVF Program in the UI Center for Advanced Reproductive Care has been one of the elite programs of its kind in the nation for more than a decade. Pregnancy rates in the UI program exceed those of national averages in every age category, in some cases doubling the rates seen by other clinics throughout the country. The IVF Team also leads the nation in the percentage of elective single-embryo transfers. To achieve such outstanding results safely and over a sustained period is a reflection of an outstanding group of experienced and dedicated physicians, nurses, laboratory personnel, and support staff.

View video

Excellence in Our Workplace Award

This award is given to a medical director, whose leadership and innovation demonstrably improves the “practice life” and satisfaction of providers in the delivery of clinical care.

Tom Scholz

This year's recipient: Tom Scholz, MD, Pediatrics

Dr. Tom Scholz served as interim head of pediatrics and physician-in-chief of UI Children’s Hospital from October 2010 to July 2012. He was a steadying presence during the search and transition to a new department head and an insightful facilitator throughout the initial planning and approval stages for the new UI Children’s Hospital. Besides his interim duties, Dr. Scholz continued as director of the pediatric cardiology division while also running an active research lab, caring for patients, and staffing the inpatient unit.

View video

Douglas VanDaele

This year's recipient: Douglas Van Daele, MD, Otolaryngology

As chief medical information officer for UI Health Care, Dr. Douglas Van Daele has been key to the multi-year implementation of Epic, the electronic medical record platform at UI Hospitals and Clinics. Physicians and clinical staff, information technology specialists, and administrators have lauded his perseverance to ensure that colleagues have the tools, resources, and training to transition to the new system. As one award nomination stated, “Dr. Van Daele has proven that ‘everything is possible; the impossible just takes a little longer.’”

View video

Patient Satisfaction and Service Excellence Award

This award is given to an individual or team in recognition of outstanding patient satisfaction. Metrics can include Press Ganey Satisfaction Score, most improved score, and/or other patient feedback.

Kelly Ward

This year's recipient: Kelly Ward, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology

According to her patients and colleagues, Dr. Kelly Ward exemplifies the qualities of outstanding patient service. She consistently is mentioned in weekly patient satisfaction reports, which is a testament to her sincerity and genuine ability to make each patient a priority, even during her off-clinic hours. Dr. Ward’s peers marvel at her willingness to “go the extra step”—such as escorting a patient from the Pomerantz Family Pavilion back to Parking Ramp 1 because the patient got lost on the way to her appointment.

View video

Best Consulting Provider Award

This award is given to an individual in recognition of his or her outstanding consulting or specialized services to the inpatient and ambulatory patients of UI Health Care.

Ann Broderick

This year's recipient: Ann Broderick, MD, Internal Medicine

Dr. Ann Broderick is director of the Palliative Care Program, which provides multidisciplinary management of the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual needs of patients with serious illnesses and their families. In 2012, the adult and pediatric palliative care teams achieved Advanced Certification in Palliative Care by The Joint Commission. Dr. Broderick’s understanding and sensitivity to the needs of patients and families is reflected in the work of her team, which is highly regarded for responding promptly to physicians’ requests for consultations and delivering compassionate care.

View video

Clinician of the Year Award

This award is given to a clinician who most embodies those aspects of a truly great patient service provider, including technical skill, humanism to patients and families, collaboration with colleagues, and advocacy.

John Fieselmann

This year's recipient: John Fieselmann, MD, Internal Medicine

Dr. John Fieselmann is the embodiment of a highly skilled physician whose geniality, collaborative approach, and tireless work ethic earn him the adoration of patients and the respect of colleagues. His dedication to patient care is reflected in the extra time he routinely spends working to find solutions to his patients' problems. As director of the Joint Office for Clinical Outreach Services for the past 19 years, he has been instrumental in expanding clinical outreach and fostering professional relationships across Iowa.

View video

We welcome your feedback! Please help us improve your experience on our website by completing a brief survey.