UI Hospitals and Clinics

News Article

Clinicians Honored

The first-ever University of Iowa Physicians (UIP) Clinical Awards were presented October 17 at the group's annual meeting. UIP is composed of the 700-plus staff physicians who provide care at UI Hospitals and Clinics.

Earlier this year, the group established the awards to honor clinical excellence among their members. Nominations are accepted annually from any UIP member or participant and evaluated by the UIP Clinical Awards Committee.

Innovations in Clinical Care Award

This award is given to an individual or team for implementation of an innovative new program or process that improves service to patients.

Patrick Brophy

This year's recipient:
Patrick Brophy, MD, Pediatrics

Dr. Patrick Brophy’s leadership and creativity have led to a resurgence of pediatric nephrology at University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and his efforts have resulted in the development of a re-energized pediatric inpatient and outpatient dialysis program, as well as the pediatric renal transplantation program. Dr. Brophy and his team dedicate themselves every day to meeting the needs of pediatric patients with acute and chronic renal failure.

View video

Excellence in Quality Award

This award is given to an individual or team in recognition of outstanding quality of care provided to patients. Recipients will have demonstrated excellence in reportable measures of quality, benchmarked patient outcomes, or improvements in internally measured outcomes.

Julia Klesney-Tait

This year's individual recipient: Julia Klesney-Tait, MD, PhD, Internal Medicine

Dr. Julia Klesney-Tait has been instrumental in the development of the lung transplant program at University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. Currently, the program is CMS-certified and has one of the shortest lengths-of-stay following lung transplantation in the country. The one-year and three-year survival rates are among the nation’s top five programs. Dr. Klesney-Tait has demonstrated excellence in clinical and administrative areas, including programmatic development, with outstanding outcomes.

View video

Jeffrey Segar

This year's team recipient: Division of Neonatology, award accepted by Jeffrey Segar, MD, Pediatrics

The quality of care provided in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU) at UI Hospitals and Clinics is unsurpassed. For the second time, the NICU was selected to be part of the Neonatal Research Network of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, which is comprised of 18 leading NICUs throughout the country. For the past four years, the unit’s mortality rate is half that of the NICU next in the ratings, and, when benchmarked against the Vermont Oxford Database for like units, the UI NICU morbidity rates are also consistently low. The Division of Neonatology has been a leader not only within the UI Children’s Hospital but within UI Hospitals and Clinics.

View video

Excellence in Our Workplace Award

This award is given to a medical director, whose leadership and innovation demonstrably improves the “practice life” and satisfaction of providers in the delivery of clinical care.

Rachel Maassen

This year's recipient: Rachel Maassen, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dr. Rachel Maassen is being recognized as an outstanding clinician and director of the UI Obstetrics and Gynecology Clinic. Her leadership efforts have ensured that the clinic is efficient and profitable, and that the experiences of the patients and care providers are also positive. Additionally, Dr. Maassen is cited for being a remarkable mentor, teacher, role model, and patient advocate.

View video

Patient Satisfaction and Service Excellence Award

This award is given to an individual or team in recognition of outstanding patient satisfaction. Metrics can include Press Ganey Satisfaction Score, most improved score, and/or other patient feedback.

Marlan Hansen

This year's recipient: Marlan Hansen, MD, Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery

Dr. Marlan Hansen is a highly skilled and hardworking physician and surgeon who is always eager to help others, especially his patients. Watching him in the OR is similar to watching the delicate fingerings of a virtuoso violinist, as he dissects tumor from cranial nerves. Dr. Hansen’s patience, teaching, and dedication to his patients make him an excellent model for future academic physicians.

View video

Best Consulting Provider Award

This award is given to an individual in recognition of his or her outstanding consulting or specialized services to the inpatient and ambulatory patients of UI Health Care.

Frank Mitros

This year's recipient: Frank Mitros, MD, Pathology

Dr. Frank Mitros has worked at UI Hospitals and Clinics for over 30 years, and in that time has served as the “ultimate” consultant to his colleagues. Among his many attributes is his willingness to consult when he’s not “on call,” whether it’s after hours or on the weekends. Dr. Mitros’s knowledge, dedication to patients, willingness to go the extra mile, and ability to educate place him in the most elite category.

View video

Clinician of the Year Award

This award is given to a clinician who most embodies those aspects of a truly great patient service provider, including technical skill, humanism to patients and families, collaboration with colleagues, and advocacy.

Richard Smith

This year's recipient: Richard Smith, MD, Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery

Dr. Richard Smith sees about 40 pediatric patients a day, with needs ranging from routine to the most complex. And regardless of the patient’s circumstances, he always works to soothe the apprehension of the child and his or her family. Dr. Smith’s vast experience and knowledge enable him to provide excellent care efficiently, all the while tending to the needs of the patient and family.

View video