GME Staff Directory

GME Physician Leadership

Mark C. Wilson, MD, MPH
Professor, Internal Medicine
Associate Dean, Graduate Medical Education (GME)
Designated Institutional Officer (DIO), Graduate Medical Education

GME Staff

Cynthia Geyer, JD, MA
Director, GME
Administrator, Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC)
cynthia-geyer@uiowa.edu

  • Contractual Agreements (MOUs and PLAs)
  • Budget and Funding
  • Consultation with Program Directors and Resident/Fellow Physicians
  • Discipline, Grievance, and Termination Procedures
  • GME Appeals Committee
  • Institutional Policy Development
  • Liaison with other Committees and Departments
  • GME Annual Report
  • New Program and Program Modification Requests

Lou Halsch, BSE
Assistant Director, GME
lou-halsch@uiowa.edu

  • ACGME Activities  
    • ADS
    • CLER
    • New Program Applications
    • Resident/Faculty Surveys
    • Site Visits
    • Self-Studies
    • Special and Focused Reviews
  • New Accreditation System
  • Annual Program Review Process
  • GME Quality Improvements
  • Faculty Development
  • Program Coordinator Development
  • Program Review Process & Subcommittee
  • Call Rooms
  • Communication

Bridgette Brown, BBA
GME Specialist - Operations
bridgette-brown@uiowa.edu

  • Onboarding new residents and fellows
  • Resident and Fellow Contracts
  • On-Call Dining
  • Call Rooms
  • GME Website and MedHub maintenance
  • Outbounding
  • Summative Evaluations
  • Accreditation Support
  • Database/Records Management
  • Benefits Liaison
  • Pager distribution and requisitions 

Clover Farmer, BA
Executive Administrative Assistant/Mark C. Wilson
clover-farmer@uiowa.edu

  • Assistant to Dr. Wilson
  • Educational Retreats
  • New Resident/Fellow Transitional Professional Development Sessions
  • Training Verifications and Loan Deferments
  • GME Committee Meeting Activities
    • Program Director Changes
    • Program Coordinator Change

Richard Garrison, BA
Financial Manager - GME Operations
richard-garrison@uiowa.edu

  • Fiscal Activities  
    • Budgets
    • Affiliate and CMS Billing
    • SMPH Fund Transfers
    • Cost Center Varience Reviews
  • Gap Insurance Billing
  • Rotation Schedule/FTE Audits
  • Resident Council and Make It Easier Committee Support
  • Veteran's Affairs Liaison

Jennifer Greer, BA
GME Specialist - Operations
jennifer-greer@uiowa.edu

  • Recruitment/Match  
    • National Residency Match Program (NRMP) Liaison
    • Electronic Residency Application System (ERAS) Liaison
    • San Francisco Match Liaison
  • MedHub Resident Management System Trainer
  • Resident Council and Make It Easier Committee Support
  • Reporting
  • Leaves of Absence and Contract Extensions

Barbara Herring, BS
GME Specialist - Operations
barbara-herring@uiowa.edu

  • Stipend/Wage Audits
  • J1 Visa/ECFMG (Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates) Processing
  • HR Appointments & Terminations
  • Certificates of Completion
  • MedHub Documentation (LOA, Moonlighting, Licenses, Certifications, Visas, Departing House Staff Forms)
  • HR Representative for Resident & Fellow Physicians, and GME Staff
  • Visiting Residents

Graduate Medical Education Resources

Scott Vogelgesang, MD
Professor, Internal Medicine
Chair, Graduate Medical Education Committee
Director, Continuous Accreditation Initiatives
scott-vogelgesang@uiowa.edu

Marygrace Elson, MD, MME
Professor, Obstetrics & Gynecology
Vice Chair, Graduate Medical Education Committee
marygrace-elson@uiowa.edu

Rashmi Mueller, MBBS
Director, GME Quality & Patient Safety Initiatives
Clinical Associate Professor, Anesthesia
rashmi-mueller@uiowa.edu

Jeff Pettit, PhD
Teaching Skills Consultant
UI Carver College of Medicine
jeffrey-pettit@uiowa.edu

Zach Hickman, MFA
GME Educational Consultant
zachery-hickman@uiowa.edu

Contact GME
Phone: 319-356-2256
gmeoffice@uiowa.edu