Key Faculty

Cytopathology is a multifaceted laboratory performing service, education and scholarly work. The service area of the laboratory is responsible for preparation, staining and microscopic examination of patient samples. The cytologic samples may be used for screening (cervical-vaginal), a diagnosis (FNA), or (when a cytology is performed in conjunction with a surgical procedure) improving the overall diagnostic accuracy (brushes, washes).

Cytology also has a pathologist-based Fine Needle Aspiration Biopsy (FNAB) service located in the Clinical Cancer Center for palpable masses. The pathologists also travel to other clinic areas for FNA of non-palpable thoracic, abdominal and soft tissue masses.

Chris Jensen, MD
Cytology Director
319-356-3217
chris-jensen@uiowa.edu
Laila Dahmoush, MBChB
Assistant Cytology Director
319-356-4440
laila-dahmoush@uiowa.edu
Ryan W. Askeland, MD
Cytology Faculty
319-353-8986
ryan-askeland@uiowa.edu
Amani, Bashir, MBBS
Cytology Faculty
319-467-5706
amani-bashir@uiowa.edu
Marina Ivanovic, MD, FIAC
Cytology Faculty
319-353-6861
marina-ivanovic@uiowa.edu
Robert A. Robinson, MD, PhD
Cytology Faculty
319-356-4163
robert-a-robinson@uiowa.edu
Megan I. Samuelson, MD
Cytology Faculty
319-353-6796
megan-samuelson@uiowa.edu
 

We'd welcome your feedback!

Please help us improve your experience on our website by completing a brief survey