About the Program

The University of Iowa Department of Neurology is the third oldest in the country and its residency program one of the first to be accredited in the 1920s. Established in 1919 as the first academic Department of Neurology west of the Mississippi River, the department has been fortunate to be led by renowned neurologists in each era of its existence, including such luminaries as Clarence Van Epps, Adolph Sahs (a founder of the American Academy of Neurology), Maurice Van Allen, Antonio Damasio and Robert Rodnitzky.

13 former faculty and/or trainees of the department have gone on to chair academic neurology departments and an additional 11 have become neurology residency directors. On July 1, 2010 George Richerson, MD, PhD, was appointed the department's sixth chair, and he leads a department rich in continuity and poised for exciting growth.

Our residency program produces outstanding graduates through:

  • A balance of clinical and didactic experiences, augmented by self-reflection and study.
  • Graduated responsibility, where junior residents receive a greater degree of supervision and senior residents in turn gain more autonomy and develop their own supervisory and leadership skills.
  • A culture of collegiality and cooperation; we work best as a team.
  • A program that is sufficiently structured, yet flexible enough to allow the resident to explore areas of individual interest.
  • Emphasis on tools of life-long learning.
  • Funding from an NIH/NINDS R25 research education grant.

For Neurology ACGME Information Please Visit:

For AAN Information Please Visit: