• Welcome!

    Thank you for your interest in the Neurology Residency Program offered by the Department of Neurology at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.

    Our four-year categorical program will provide you with exposure to a wide range of clinical problems of varied complexity as well as in-depth experience in direct patient care and continuity of care.

    The residency provides structure, mentorship, support, and direction. The resident is responsible for using this framework to maximize professional and personal development. The successful resident will set learning goals, design objectives to meet these goals, and monitor progress. Tools for life-long learning and personal well-being will be developed as well.

  • Impact of Iowa on the Field of Neurology

    • In 1919, we were established as the first academic Department of Neurology west of the Mississippi River, and the third oldest in the country.
    • Our Residency Program was one of the first to be accredited.
    • The program is supported by an NIH/NINDS R25 research education grant.
    • Former Chairmen include the renowned neurologists: Clarence Van Epps, Adolph Sahs, Maurice Van Allen, Antonio Damasio and Robert Rodnitzky.
    • Adolph Sahs was one of the four founders of the American Academy of Neurology, known as “The Four Horseman of Neurology.”
    • 13 former faculty and/or trainees of the department have gone on to chair academic neurology departments and an additional 11 have become neurology residency program directors.
    • Jun Kimura, MD, a major international figure in the development of electrophysiology and EMG/NCV interpretation, was the President of the World Federation of Neurology from 2002-2005
    • William Talman, MD, one of the world’s authorities on normal function and diseases of the autonomic nervous system, was President of the Federation of American Societies of Experimental Biology  (FASEB) from 2010-2011.
    • Two former residents have been presidents of the world's two largest neurological professional organizations, the American Academy of Neurology and the American Neurological Association (Drs. Adolph Sahs and Robert Joynt).
    • Two former residents (Drs. Bradley Hyman and Pedro Gonzalez-Alegre) and a current faculty member (Dr. Kumar Narayanan) have been recipients of the prestigious American Academy of Neurology annual S. Weir Mitchell Award for outstanding research while a Neurology trainee.
    • We played key roles in the development of the NIH Stroke Scale, completion of the first NIH-funded clinical trial in the field of stroke research, development of novel psychological techniques to assess neurologically compromised patients, and many other advances in clinical neurology.
    • Faculty within the Department currently hold grants and contracts totaling more than $5 million.
    • We offer the Clinical Neuroscientist Training Program (CNS-TP), which integrates post-graduate research and clinical training through residency and fellowship, to help physician scientists integrate clinical and experimental knowledge.

    We hope that you consider becoming part of our tradition of clinical excellence and recognized leadership in neurology.